Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Alaska

Regulatory Bodies

Alaska Division of Health Care Services
Alaska Board of Nursing
Alaska Commission on Aging
Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Division of Employment and Training Services

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Personal Care Attendant (PCA)
  • Home Health Aide (HHA)
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • In Alaska, the specific topics covered in HHA and CNA annual training may vary depending on the training program, but generally, the training should include the following topics: Review of basic caregiving skills, including vital signs monitoring, infection control, and personal care; Client and patient rights and safety; Communication skills; Care for patients with dementia or Alzheimer’s disease; Emergency preparedness and response; Recognizing and reporting changes in patient condition; Cultural competence and sensitivity
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Alabama may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Alabama-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login