Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Arkansas

Regulatory Bodies

Arkansas Department of Health
Arkansas Department of Human Services Division of Medical Services

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Personal Care Aide (PCA)
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
  • Home Health Aide (HHA)
  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • In Arkansas, PCA and HHA training covvers basic personal care skills, such as bathing, dressing, grooming, and toileting, communication skills, infection control, safe transfer techniques, basic nutrition and hydration, emergency preparedness and response, respect for patient rights and cultural differences, care for patients with specific conditions, such as Alzheimer’s disease or dementia, medication administration, and basic first aid.
  • LPNs are required to complete 12 hours of annual in-service training covering topics related to nursing practice, patient care, and safety.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Arkansas may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Arkansas-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login