Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for California

Regulatory Bodies

California Department of Public Health, Licensing and Certification Program
California Department of Social Services, Home Care Services Bureau
California Department of Aging

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Personal Care Aides (PCAs)
  • Home Health Aides (HHAs)
  • Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs)
  • Licensed Vocational Nurses (LVNs)
  • Registered Nurses (RNs)
  • Home Care Aides (HCAs)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • HHA training addresses infection control, safety and emergency procedures, client rights and confidentiality, communication skills, observation, reporting and documentation of client status and the care or service furnished, and personal care services.
  • CNA annual training includes at least two hours of dementia care training, along with other topics such as infection control, safety, communication, and resident rights.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in California may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a California-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login