Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Connecticut

Regulatory Bodies

Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH)
Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP)
Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Personal Care Assistant (PCA)
  • Home Health Aide (HHA)
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • Annual PCA training addresses communication skills, infection control, safety, basic personal care, and other relevant topics
  • Annual HHA training addresses Communication skills, infection control, safety, basic personal care, and other relevant topics
  • Topics covered in annual CNA training include resident rights, communication, safety and emergency procedures, infection control, personal care skills, and other relevant topics
  • Annual LPN training covers medication administration, patient assessment, communication skills, documentation, and other relevant topics
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Connecticut may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Connecticut-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login