Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Delaware

Regulatory Bodies

Delaware Department of Health and Social Services
Delaware Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
  • Certified Home Health Aide (CHHA)
  • Personal Care Aide (PCA)
  • Homemaker-Home Health Aide (HHHA)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • In Delaware, the topics covered in the annual in-service training for all designations include, but are not limited to: Infection control; Communication skills; Resident rights; Safety and emergency procedures; Abuse, neglect, and exploitation prevention; Dementia care; Cultural competency; and End-of-life care.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Delaware may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Delaware-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login