Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Florida

Regulatory Bodies

Florida Department of Health (DOH)
The Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA)
Florida Department of Elder Affairs

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Home Health Aides (HHA)
  • Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA)
  • Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • HHA annual training addresses HIV/AIDS, infection control, communication with patients and families, respecting patients’ rights, recognizing emergencies and how to report them, basic personal care skills.
  • CNA annual training covers medical and surgical asepsis, handwashing, vital signs, nutrition and hydration, body mechanics and transfers, communication and interpersonal skills, resident rights.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Florida may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Florida-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login