Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Georgia

Regulatory Bodies

Georgia Department of Community Health (DCH)
Georgia Board of Nursing
Georgia Medical Care Foundation (GMCF)

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Personal Care Aides (PCA)
  • Home Health Aides (HHA)
  • Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA)
  • Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • PCA annual training addresses caregiver self-care, hygiene, infection control, first aid, nutrition, and behavior management
  • HHA annual training covers safety, communication, documentation, infection control, client rights and independence, and end-of-life care
  • CNA annual training addresses ethics, communication, legal aspects of nursing, safety and infection control, patient care, mental health, and dementia care
  • Annual LPN training varies by employer and work setting, but may include medication administration, patient assessments, wound care, and leadership skills
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Georgia may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Georgia-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login