Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Hawaii

Regulatory Bodies

Hawaii Department of Health
Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Certified Nurse Aide (CNA)
  • Home Health Aide (HHA)
  • Personal Care Aide (PCA)
  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • There is no specific annual training requirement for HHAs or PCAs in Hawaii. However, they are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education annually to maintain their certification. The specific topics covered in the continuing education courses can vary, but they generally focus on subjects related to home and health care, such as: Infection control; Communication skills; Client rights and confidentiality; Basic first aid and emergency procedures; Nutrition and meal planning; Assisting with activities of daily living; Medication management; End of life care and grief counseling; Ethics and professionalism in home care.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Hawaii may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Hawaii-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login