Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Indiana

Regulatory Bodies

Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH)
Indiana State Board of Nursing
Indiana State Department of Aging

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Personal Care Attendant (PCA)
  • Home Health Aide (HHA)
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • The topics covered in annual training for HHAs and CNAs in Indiana include: Infection control; Client rights and independence; Communication and interpersonal skills; Safety and emergency procedures; Personal care skills; Nutrition and hydration; Observation and reporting; Recognizing and reporting changes in client condition; Managing client behavior; and End of life care
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Indiana may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Indiana-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login