Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Iowa

Regulatory Bodies

Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals
Iowa Board of Nursing
Iowa Department of Public Health

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Home Health Aide (HHA)
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • Topics covered in annual training for HHAs and CNAs in Iowa: Infection control; Communication skills; Personal care skills; Basic restorative services; Mental health and social service needs; Observation and reporting; End-of-life care; Nutrition and hydration; Skin care; and Safety and emergency procedures.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Iowa may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Iowa-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login