Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Maryland

Regulatory Bodies

Maryland Board of Nursing
Maryland Department of Health
Maryland Department of Aging
Maryland Department of Disabilities

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs)
  • Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs)
  • Home Health Aides (HHAs)
  • Personal Care Aides (PCAs)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • CNA annual training must include topics such as infection control, patient safety, ethics, and communication skills.
  • LPN annual training includes topics related to nursing practice, patient safety, and ethics.
  • HHA annual training covers topics such as patient safety, communication skills, and infection control.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Maryland may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Maryland-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login