Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Michigan

Regulatory Bodies

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA)
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS)

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Personal Care Aides (PCAs)
  • Home Health Aides (HHAs)
  • Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs)
  • Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • HHA annual training addresses the following topics: health and safety, client rights, infection control, communication skills, observation and reporting, personal care skills, basic first aid, emergency procedures, and other topics relevant to the provision of in-home services
  • CNA annual training covers federal and state legal requirements, infection control, communication skills, resident rights, safety/emergency procedures, basic nursing skills, personal care skills, nutrition, and other topics relevant to the provision of nursing care in long-term care settings
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Michigan may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Michigan-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login