Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Minnesota

Regulatory Bodies

Minnesota Department of Health (MDH)
Minnesota Board of Nursing
Minnesota Home Care Association

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Personal Care Assistant (PCA)
  • Home Health Aide (HHA)
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • HHA annual training topics: Client rights and independence, communication, infection control, nutrition and hydration, safe transfer techniques, emergency procedures, recognizing and reporting changes in a client’s condition, and maintaining a clean and safe environment.
  • PCA annual training topics: Communication skills, client rights and independence, client safety and emergency procedures, infection control, assisting with activities of daily living, nutrition and hydration, and maintaining a clean and safe environment.
  • CNA annual training topics: Communication, infection control, safety and emergency procedures, promoting residents’ independence and rights, basic nursing skills, personal care skills, and mental health and social service needs.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Minnesota may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Minnesota-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login