Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Montana

Regulatory Bodies

Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS)
Montana Board of Nursing
Montana Department of Labor and Industry

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Certified Nurse Aides (CNAs)
  • Personal Care Attendants (PCAs)
  • Home Health Aides (HHAs)
  • Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • In Montana, topics covered in annual training for CNAs and HHAs include: Infection control; Emergency procedures; Client rights and independence; Communication and interpersonal skills; Personal care skills; Alzheimer’s disease and dementia care; Nutrition and hydration; Fall prevention and safety.
  • For LPNs, annual training must be relevant to the practice of nursing and may include a combination of formal educational programs, workshops, seminars, conferences, and self-study activities. At least two of the 24 hours must be related to ethics or Montana laws and rules governing nursing practice.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Montana may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Montana-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login