Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for New Jersey

Regulatory Bodies

The New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, Board of Nursing
The New Jersey Board of Medical Examiners
The New Jersey Department of Health

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Certified homemaker-home health aides (CHHAs)
  • Certified nurse aides (CNAs)
  • Licensed practical nurses (LPNs)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • CHHA annual training topics include infection control, patient rights and safety, personal hygiene and grooming, communication skills, and basic nursing skills.
  • CNA annual training topics include resident rights and safety, infection control, communication skills, dementia care, and emergency procedures.
  • According to the New Jersey Board of Nursing, LPNs must complete 30 hours of continuing education credits every two years to renew their license. However, specific requirements for annual training may vary based on the employer and work setting.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in New Jersey may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a New Jersey-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login