Are you a caregiver looking for help?

training requirements for Texas

Regulatory Bodies

Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)
Texas Health and Human Services (HHS)
Texas Board of Nursing
Texas Medical Board

Federal: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which is a federal agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

  • Personal Care Attendants (PCA)
  • Home Health Aides (HHA)
  • Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA)
  • Licensed Vocational Nurses (LVN)

State Specific Training Requirements

  • PCAs are considered to be a type of home care provider in Texas. However, unlike other home care providers such as CNAs, there are no specific state-mandated training requirements for PCAs in Texas.
  • Annual HHA training addresses the following topics: basic health and personal care skills, infection control, communication skills, patient rights and ethics, Alzheimer’s and dementia care, end-of-life care, and other topics relevant to home health care.
  • Annual CNA training addresses infection control, communication, safety, resident rights, personal care skills, cognitive and behavioral issues, and other topics relevant to nursing care.
  • It is important to note that the specific designations and requirements for home and health care workers in Texas may vary depending on the type of services being provided, the setting in which those services are provided, and other factors. Some home and health care agencies may require additional training or certifications beyond the minimum state requirements, depending on the specific services they provide and the needs of their clients.
  • Therefore, it’s important for home and health care providers and agencies to check with their employer or a Texas-approved training program to determine any additional training requirements that may apply to their job.

Caregiver Login

Employer Login